Bengough – St. Michael


Bengough – St. Michael 

                                                    St. Michael church Bengough


With the first homesteaders of Bengough moving into the area in 1906 came the need for worship. The LaSalette Fathers based at Forget and Verwood celebrated Mass in private homes, until 1913 when a house was purchased and renovated. Charles Callen, Bob Matthews and James Venne completed renovations to the building. This building served as the church until 1956, when it was sold. The current church purchased in 1956 from the Verwood congregation, was moved to Bengough on November 21st of that year. Hugo Allgayer made a generous bequest and nearly covered the purchase price and moving expenses. Christmas Midnight Mass was celebrated in the new church by Rev. L. Sullivan.

Father Sullivan arrived a few months before the new church was moved into town. He lived in one of the parishioner’s houses while the church was being finished. Soon after, he converted the back of the church to his living quarters. He lived there until the rectory was built in 1957.

The Bengough C.W.L. and Knights of Columbus are very supportive of all parish activities.

In 2001, St. Michael parish became an associate parish of Radville Pastoral Zone.

St. Michael parish is credited with 3 religious vocations, Rev. Len Albers, and 2 Lawrick women, one joined Sisters of St. Martha, and one joined Sisters of Our Lady of the Misssions.

Pastors who served in Bengough:

Fathers of LaSalette (including Rev. St. Cyr, Rev. Platier, and Rev. Wilhelm) 1911-1931

Rev. Mulligan 1931-1934

Rev. McLellan 1934-1937

Rev. McKenna 1937-1956

Rev. L. Sullivan 1956-1965

Rev. Don McNeil 1965-1972

Rev. Basil Chomos 1972-1976

Rev. Terry Grohs 1976-1981

Rev. Cornelius Lucey 1981-1992

Rev. Stephen Bill 1992-1996

Rev. Brian Meredith 1999-2001

Rev. Francis Kurisinkal 2001-2008

Rev. Anthony Bruno 2008-2011

Rev. Anthony Pangan 2011-2017

Rev. Thuy Nguyen 2017-



St. Michael R.C. Parish

621 1st Street East

P.O. Box 369

Bengough, Saskatchewan 

S0C 0K0

Fax:   306-268-2104



Perry Jones




Belva Boynton





Madonna Unterreiner




Annette Coubrough




Social Justice:

Barb Warken



Deanery Rep.:

Kay Jones



Religious Ed. Coordinator:

Tracy Praski




Building and Grounds:

Kevin Foley




Responsible Ministries:

Donna Unterreiner



Public Relations:

Dave Webster